I Don’t Want To Spend This Much Time On PMP Renewal. How About You?

I Don’t Want To Spend This Much Time On PMP Renewal. How About You?

Looking to renew your PMI-PMP certification? Here’s a creative way to earn all 60 PDUs for PMP Renewal!


To earn and maintain the Project Management Professional (PMP) credential, you must accumulate 60 professional development units (PDUs) every three years. This requirement aims to ensure that certified PMPs keep their skills and knowledge up to date to continue providing the best possible service to their organisations and clients.

There are various ways to earn 60 PDUs, and you can choose the option or options that work best for you and your career. This guide will go over some of the most popular ways to earn sixty PDU so you can decide what’s best for you.

What are PDUs?

PDUs are Professional Development Units that are required for maintaining your PMI-PMP certification. You must earn 60 PDUs every three years to renew your certification, and you can make them through various activities such as attending conferences, taking classes, or reading books.

How many PDUs do you need to renew your PMI-PMP certification?

The answer to this question depends on the credential you currently hold. If you are a PMI-certified Project Management Professional (PMP), you must earn 60 PDUs (professional development units) every three years to maintain your credential.

How can you earn PDUs?

There are several activities that you can do to earn PDUs. You can find a list of acceptable activities on the PMP renewal application form, which you can get from the PMI website.

Some everyday activities that qualify for PDUs include:

  • Attending PDU-eligible conferences, seminars, webinars, or courses (both online and offline).
  • Conducting research, either independently or as part of a team.
  • Publishing articles related to the PMP in professional journals or via your blog or website.
  • Creating and presenting training materials related to the PMP.
  • Serving as a mentor for other professionals seeking their PMP certification.
  • Leading or participating in project management initiatives within your organization.

What are the different categories of PDUs?

There are four different categories of PDUs, each with its requirements. To help you understand it all, we’ve broken down the various categories and what each entail.

The first category is Leadership PDUs. These PDUs can be earned through volunteering, mentoring, and training. You can also earn Leadership PDUs by authoring books or articles, presenting at conferences, or speaking at events. To achieve a Leadership PDU, you must complete an activity and submit a short form to PMI indicating what you did and how many hours you spent on the action.

The second category is Educational PDUs. These PDUs can be earned by attending workshops, webinars, seminars, and conferences. You can also earn Educational PDUs through online, distance learning, and e-learning courses. To achieve an Educational PDU, you must submit a certificate of completion or a transcript to PMI indicating the name of the event/course, the date of completion, the number of hours completed, and the provider of the system.

The third category is Strategic & Business Management PDUs. These PDUs can be earned by completing projects that contribute to organizational strategy or improve business processes. You can also earn Strategic & Business Management PDUs through change management, process improvement initiatives, and business continuity planning. To make a Strategic & Business Management PDU, you must submit a project report to PMI detailing the project’s objectives, the results achieved, and the number of hours spent on the project.

The fourth and final category is Technical Project Management. These PDUs can be earned by completing technical projects or contributing to technological innovation within your organisation. You can also earn Technical Project Management PDUs through activities like prototype development, R&D initiatives, and implementing new technologies. To make a Technical Project Management, you must submit a project report to PMI detailing the project’s objectives.

How to report your PDUs?

  • Select “My Credentials” from the drop-down menu
  • Click on “Report PDUs”
  • Select the activity type and enter the number of PDUs earned
  • Submit

What are the benefits of renewing your PMI-PMP certification?

There are many benefits of renewing your PMI-PMP certification, including:

  • The ability to retain your credential and continue to use the PMP designation
  • Access to the latest project management knowledge and practice standards
  • Continued participation in the world’s largest global community of project management professionals
  • Opportunities to network with other certified PMPs and share best practices
  • Discounts on PMI products and services, including the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide)


There are several ways to earn the 60 PDUs required for PMI-PMP renewal. You can take courses, attend seminars, and participate in projects, among other activities. Be sure to document your PDU activities to submit them for approval easily.

Well, my question to you now is, will you give yourself time in a single shot to earn your PDUs, or would you love to get the help of an ATP with your PDUs and the entire time at your pace? We, “Tromenz Learning“, are an authorized training partner. Reach us if you have any further doubts regarding PMP Renewal and getting PDUs instantly.

One thought on “I Don’t Want To Spend This Much Time On PMP Renewal. How About You?”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.